PDA

View Full Version : Darn Frustrated

Gregness
09-03-2013, 12:39 PM
So I tore the D2 apart and pulled the Pony carb again, and rebuilt it with the kit I paid $100 for. I put it all back together hoping for good news... but nothing seems to have changed. It still start running too rich and just dies off. New float-needle valve assemly, new gaskets, everything cleaned, tried adjusting the new high-speed mixture screw, nothing worked. Damn. (FYI, I have rebuilt many carbs over the years)

So it is starting to look like "find a replacement carb" time. Any feel for cost and availability for these items, for a 4U machine? Any ideas, something I might have overlooked?

G

snowshoveler
09-03-2013, 12:50 PM
Hello
I rebuild carbs every day its my job.I am a small engine mechanic.
However these cat carbs were a different animal. I really had to sit down and figgure where the fuel went and when. Then the fix was easy...I was missing a small gasket...yikes.
Found gasket on bench and installed it...all was good.
Regards Chris

Old Magnet
09-03-2013, 01:31 PM
Get yourself one of these reprint manuals. It's the only one that tells exactly how these carbs are supposed to work. Suspect yours has some clogged passages.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Zenith-TU-Cranking-Engine-Carburetors-/360619665791?pt=BI_Heavy_Equipment_Parts&hash=item53f69b697f#ht_973wt_890

boaterri
09-03-2013, 02:40 PM
I have not worked on Cat pony engines but when fixing running problems on my outboard motors, lawn mowers and chain saws I have found that a complete disassembly of the carb and overnight soak in mineral spirits followed by a couple of cycles thru an ultrasonic cleaner OUTDOORS with mineral spirits usually cures any gunked up carb running problems. There are a million little passages you can't get to any other way.

Rick

Garlic Pete
09-03-2013, 02:59 PM
I've done quite a few of the horizontal pony carburetors, both from J series and U series tractors.