PDA

View Full Version : LMAO...knowledge of old CAT's helping in the modern age

Hillbillybjopkr
02-20-2016, 10:52 PM
So Monday I start a new job for a small outfit in my area....I am a logger by trade.....mainly run processors.....spent my youth skinning cat logging in No. Cali...and running strokers......my new boss has 2 D6C.....one newer...has torque converter....and a older one...manual clutch with a Johnson bar.....apparently....the hooktender is confused as hell as how to run the older cat.....when I told my new boss tonight I knew about older cats and own one myself.....he was happier than a fairy in a mushroom patch.....even today...the knowledge pays off lol

ronm
02-20-2016, 11:07 PM
You don't need to use so many. :wave:

edit:I'll clarifiy......... Too.......many........of............ these......makes.....it.......hard.........as..... ..hell.......to.........read...................... .....................................

smocat35
02-21-2016, 02:29 PM
Congrats on the new job! I hope you have fun continuing to perform...... something you enjoy....... restoring a dwindling way of git-ner-dun with a Johnson bar. :juggle: The scenario you describe reminds me.......two Euc 10 yard pans my Dad owned, one with power shift.... the other direct drive....both 4-53 Driptroits. I loved skinning the power shift.....15 years old.....on a big scraper...... spending my summers building various sized agricultural ponds, and private roads. Dad also owned a DW10, and a 60 that we pulled behind a 76A D6C. I got to run everything................! None of the machines since........the modern machines I have today........compare to the sweet smell of the 76A DPM(look it up), and the low tones, turbo music, from a straight smoker pipe, when she opened up under a load.