2019 Gone Farmin' Fall Premier Auction

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 43

Thread: Is the site slow lately?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cumberland Wi
    Posts
    245

    Default Problems and problem solving

    For what it's worth, there have been a few issues that arose in the early initiation of this "new" bulletin board and were resolved quickly. I am not the bulletin board police nor was I a beta version tester, but, when I discovered a problem, I contacted adco(Megan) and advised her of the situation. Here is the procedure that we went through to fix it.

    1. Identify the problem. Communicate the situation, ie; point to place it exists, e-mail screen shot (Print screen button) copy/paste to paint,save as file and attach to e-mail.

    2. Adco reviews situation, asks additional questions if needed.

    3. Repairs if possible.

    If you are having a problem or see a problem. Record the location, and e-mail adco. Some things are repairable, some are not.

    Matt
    RD4,RD6 ,D73T, #11 Grader, 977F

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    1,206

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by adco View Post

    I respond well to chocolate and lolcats.

    -Megan
    Megan, you are priceless. Thank you for your help.
    933 42A, D4 7U, 2- D2 5U, 2- D2 4U, PV 15, LaPlante Choate C-20 scraper, and always with an eye out for more

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Dorr, MI
    Posts
    440

    Default

    I did some checking and this is what I found:

    .083 minutes to load ACMOC homepage
    1.723 minutes to load forum page
    .120 minutes to load ACME
    .063 minutes to load ACME Cat discussion segment
    .216 minutes to load FCSA forum
    .194 minutes to loadFCSA general discussion

    Just some random sites and loading times for sites I frequent. Don't know that it means anything, it's just what it is. Thanks.

    Bryan

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    1,206

    Default

    Bryan, good info, thanks. Meagan can probably sort this out better than me, but what browser and operating system are you using? Dial up, DSL, cable or ?? I was reviewing some problems that Joe Black encountered a few years ago and it sheds some light on possible causes. http://www.acmocbb.org/ACMOC_BB/show...ith-acmoc-Page
    933 42A, D4 7U, 2- D2 5U, 2- D2 4U, PV 15, LaPlante Choate C-20 scraper, and always with an eye out for more

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Palmer, KS
    Posts
    206

    Default

    I can't tell any difference in the speed. I don't have a super fast connection, or at least can't watch video's without letting them load first, and streaming is out of the question. You might try adding the bulletin board to your favorites so you can go directly here instead of through the homepage first. I like the way the pictures work now. It easier to click next rather than going back and forth. Good luck, hope you find the problem, but I don't think it is necessarily with this board. There must be some conflict between it and some program on your computer.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Eastern Oregon
    Posts
    1,063

    Default

    In the "for what it's worth" column, I'm on a dialup connection at around 46-49 Kbps and the ACME site loads twice as fast as ACMOC. Pics here on ACMOC load a lot slower than the ones at ACME. The discussion forums react the same. .ACME loads quickly, ACMOC a lot more slowly.

    My 'puter is home built with an Athlon 1.83 gig chip and 992 megs of RAM running Windows XP Pro with service pack 3 and I use Firefox for a browser.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Dorr, MI
    Posts
    440

    Default

    B4D2/Meagan,

    I run Windows 7 Home Premium HPG60 Notebook with 3GB RAM and Internet Explorer. I use Freedom Net, 2Mbps download, 512K upload. I have the same results on my wifes Mac running Safari. There has been a definite change in the last few weeks, can't put an exact time on the date. I'll head to the library here in the next few days and try it there to see if there is any difference using wireless there. Thanks.

    Bryan

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    1,206

    Default

    Bryan, That is probably an important factor: you are obviously running a home network. Is it wireless? What router are you using?
    933 42A, D4 7U, 2- D2 5U, 2- D2 4U, PV 15, LaPlante Choate C-20 scraper, and always with an eye out for more

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Dorr, MI
    Posts
    440

    Default

    Bruce,

    We are running a LinkSys router. Thanks.

    Bryan

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Laveen (Phoenix) Arizona
    Posts
    572

    Default am wondering of the time of day makes a difference.

    One of my computers, that is connected to DSL and is running Windows XP Pro and Internet Explorer, sometimes lately after I get home from work (midnight - AZ time) it is real slow and sometimes it will not load for a few minutes. HOWEVER, on my other computer which is running Windows 98 Release one (I know it is O-L-D_ and using Netscape, it doesn't seem to be any slower than usual.

    Just some more info to add to the mix.

    Walt
    Walt D7-3T

    No longer have my D7-3T. Plan to buy a D8-2U & D8-13A in future.

    Now, I no longer have access to the D8-2U and 13A.

    Also, I simply LOVE Kitty Cats. Had 19 at one time. Not quite as many now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •