Thread: cat d2 pinion gear removal help

Question cat d2 pinion gear removal help

hi guys, i'm new to all this so please be patient with me.

we have a cat d2 (5j if I remember rightly) it has been sat in the corner for 5-6 years and never been looked at. we recently decided we would start it up and did all the usual checks oil etc.. and after cleaning the points on the pony engine we managed to get that to start to run with no problems. once the pony was running we went through the usual starting procedure, tall lever right back, but when we tried to pull the smaller lever up it doesn't feel right at all. you can only pull it maybe half way up and it feels completely solid, and when you do the pony motor just gets dragged down to the point of almost stalling.

we have removed the inspection cover that allows you to access the latches on the pinion gear and from what I can see it is completely rusted up and more than likely seized. am I right in thinking that this is most likely to be the problem?

either way we think its probably a good idea to remove the pinion gear assembly and give it the once over. I have managed to lift the donkey engine and can see that I have enough clearance, but I think I will remove it completely as the gasket between the pony motor and the machine has been weeping now for a while.

so another question for you clever people, besides lifting the pony engine what else is needed in order to remove the pinion gear assembly?

Attachment 39979Attachment 39980

any help would be greatly appreciated

go easy on me!
    Attached Images Attached Images

Default your on the down hill stretch

If memory serves me, once the pony is lifted or off your ready to remove pinion.

There is a magic set of moves and twist to get it out but it will come out without removing the govenor

when the pony motor gets dragged down is the diesel spinning at all??
    Cat 941B, Cat D2 4U, Cat D3B, Cat D4 7U, Cat D6 9U